Monthly Archives: October 2013

2013 Dayton Literary Peace Prize — Winners Announced

The 2013 Dayton Literary Peace Prize winners have been announced. The Dayton Literary Peace Prize is the first and only international book award in the United States focused on the power of peace in writing. The literary prize was inspired by the 1995 Dayton Peace Accords that ended the war in Bosnia. Winners and runners-up are awarded in fiction and non-fiction categories. Winners of the prize receive a $10,000 prize, while the runners-up receive $1,000. The winners also receive a sculpture designed by Michael Bashaw.

In addition, the Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is given annually to a writer whose writing reflects the Prize’s mission. Previous recipients of the Holbrooke Award include Tim O’Brien (2012), Barbara Kingsolver (2011), Geraldine Brooks (2010), Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn (2009), Taylor Branch (2008), Elie Weisel (2007) and Studs Terkel (2006).

A selection of books written by Wendell Berry.

Books by Wendell Berry.

The recipient of the 2013 Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is Kentucky author, Wendell Berry. Berry is a prolific writer, as well as a farmer. He has over 50 works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry to his credit. Some of his publications held by Thomas Library include The Broken Ground: Poems (PS 3552 .E75 B7), A Continuous Harmony: Essays, Cultural and Agricultural (PS 3552 .E75 C6), and The Unsettling of America: Culture & Agriculture (HD 1761 .B47).

The winner of the fiction prize for 2013 is Adam Johnson, author of The Orphan Master’s Son. Johnson’s novel is the story of one man’s life, raised in an orphanage in North Korea, who moves up and down through many levels before the book reaches its conclusion. Thomas Library has a copy of The Orphan Master’s Son, call number: PS3610 .O3 O76 2012.

Andrew Solomon’s work of non-fiction, Far From the Tree, was selected the 2013 winner of the non-fiction category. Solomon’s book looks at parents learning to deal with their exceptional children, children with Down Syndrome, deafness, with children conceived in rape, with children who are prodigies and with children who are transgender, along with other challenges . He explores how the parents accept their children for who they are and how they attempt to help their children. The Library has a copy of Far From the Tree with the call number HV888.5 .S65 2012.

Runner-up in the fiction category is Ben Fountain’s Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk (PS3606.O844 B55 2012) while the runner-up in non-fiction is Devil in the Grove by Gilbert King (KF224.G76 K56 2012).

Six books are nominated in each category, with only one winner and one runner-up, meaning there are four other deserving books as well. Thomas Library has many of these titles in its collection.

The other finalists for the non-fiction award are Katherine Boo, Behind the Beautiful Forevers (HV4140.M86 B66 2012); Carmen Bugan, Burying the Typewriter (DR267.5.B84 A3 2012b); Blaine Harden, Escape From Camp 14 (HV9815.6 .H37 2012); and, Karl Meyer and Shareen Brysac, Pax Ethinica (HM1271 .M4152 2012).

In the fiction category the other finalists are Robert Olmstead, The Coldest Night (PS3565.L67 C65 2012); Susanna Moore, The Life of Objects (PS3563.O667 L54 2012); Louise Erdrich, The Round House (PS3555.R42 R68 2012); and, Kevin Powers, The Yellow Birds (PS3616.O88348 Y46 2012). If you are a student, faculty or staff person at Wittenberg and want to borrow one of these titles and it is checked out, you can request a copy through OhioLINK or SearchOhio.

While the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards dinner and ceremony on November 3, 2013, is sold out. On Sunday morning, November 3, an opportunity exists for Wittenberg students, faculty and staff to engage in a conversation with Wendell Berry, Adam Johnson, Andrew Solomon, and Gilbert King and three winners from 2011-12, Tim O’Brien, Andrew Krivak and Maaza Mengiste. The “Conversation with the Authors” will be held at Sinclair Community College in the Ponitz Center. Reservations are required and can be made with Linda Harrison at or 937-859-9106 by Wednesday, October 30. A $10 donation can be made with cash or check made payable to DLPP Foundation. No credit cards. Free parking is available in the Ponitz Center garage. Seating is limited to the first 300 registrants and it is filling up fast.