Monthly Archives: November 2015

2015 Dayton Literary Peace Prize

A selection of nominated titles for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

A selection of nominated titles for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

The winners of the 2015 Dayton Literary Peace Prize have been announced. The Dayton Literary Peace Prize is the first and only international book award in the United States focused on the power of peace in writing. The literary prize was inspired by the 1995 Dayton Peace Accords that ended the war in Bosnia. Winners and runners-up are awarded in fiction and non-fiction categories. Winners of the award receive a $10,000 prize, while the runners-up receive $1,000. The winners also receive a sculpture designed by Michael Bashaw.

In addition, the Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is given annually to a writer whose writing reflects the Prize’s mission. Previous recipients of the Holbrooke Award include Louise Erdrich (2014), Wendell Berry (2013), Tim O’Brien (2012), Barbara Kingsolver (2011), Geraldine Brooks (2010), Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn (2009), Taylor Branch (2008), Elie Weisel (2007) and Studs Terkel (2006).

The recipient of the 2015 Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is New York resident Gloria Steinem. Steinem is a well-known activist, lecturer, writer and feminist organizer. She is a co-founder of Ms. Magazine and continues to serve as a consulting editor for the publication. She is the author of a number of monographs, including Revolution From Within: A Book of Self-Esteem (BF697.5.S46 S74 1991) and Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions (HQ1413.S675 A36 1983).

The winner of the fiction prize for 2015 is Josh Weil, author of The Great Glass Sea. Weil’s book is the story of Russian twins set in a future Russia. Thomas Library has ordered a copy of The Great Glass Sea.

Bryan Stevenson’s work, Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption, was selected the 2015 winner of the non-fiction category. Stevenson’s book chronicles his career as a lawyer and as the founder and director of the Equal Justice Institute. The Library has a copy of Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption on order.

Runner-up in the fiction category is Anthony Doerr’s All The Light We Cannot See (available soon at Thomas Library) while the runner-up in non-fiction is The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace: A Brilliant Young Man Who Left Newark for the Ivy League by Jeff Hobbs (E185.97.P38 H63 2014).

Six books are nominated in each category, with only one winner and one runner-up, meaning there are four other deserving books as well. Thomas Library has also ordered all of these titles.

The other finalists for the fiction award are Roxanne Gay, An Untamed State (PS3607.A985725 U58 2014); Tiphanie Yanique, Land of Love and Drowning (on order); Cristina Henriquez, The Book of Unknown Americans (PS3608.E565 B66 2014); Jacqueline Winspear, The Care and Management of Lies: A Novel of the Great War (PR6123.I575 C37 2014).

In the non-fiction category the other finalists are Elizabeth D. Samet, No Man’s Land: Preparing for War and Peace in Post 9/11 America (UB357 .S26 2014); Lacy M. Johnson, The Other Side: A Memoir (HV6561 .J65 2014); Meline Toumani, There Was and There Was Not: A Journey Through Hate and Possibility in Turkey, Armenia and Beyond (on order); Jeff Chang, Who We Be: The Colorization of America (E184.A1 C4425 2014).

If you look for a book and it is checked out, either on campus or off campus, you can request a copy through OhioLINK or SearchOhio.

While the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards dinner and ceremony on November 1, 2015, is sold out, on Sunday morning, November 1, an opportunity exists for Wittenberg students, faculty and staff to engage in a conversation with Gloria Steinem, Josh Weil, Bryan Stevenson and Jeff Hobbs and previous recipients, Karima Bennoune, Gilbert King, Bob Shacochis, and Margaret Wrinkle. Christopher Cerf will serve as moderator. The “Conversation with the Authors” will be held at Sinclair Community College in the Ponitz Center.

The program will be held in the 1st floor auditorium with registration beginning at 9:30 a.m. Reservations are required and can be made at by Wednesday, October 28. A $15 donation can be made with cash or check made payable to DLPP Foundation. No credit cards. Free parking is available in the Ponitz Center garage. Seating is limited and it is filling up fast. A book signing follows the program and books will be available for purchase.