Monthly Archives: May 2020

Thomas Library Student Employees Recognized at Honors Convocation and Celebration of Learning

Wittenberg seal in stained glass from Weaver Chapel
Wittenberg seal in stained glass from Weaver Chapel

Honors Convocation

Each year Wittenberg University honors outstanding students, faculty and staff at the annual Honors Convocation. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic there was no in-person convocation this year, but rather recipients of awards have been announced on the Honors Convocation website.

We are always pleased to find names of library student-employees who have received well-deserved recognition and it is my pleasure to recognize them now. I apologize if I missed your name and you were not included on the list. Please know it was not intentional.

Circulation Department

Ellen D. Brouhard
Alpha Lambda Delta

Jana Davila
Tau Pi Phi

Chelby C. Dye
Barbara Steel Kane Memorial Award (Education Department)

Saylor M. Frye
Alma Mater (Final Candiates)
ATO-Paul F. Bloomhardt Award (History Department)
Jeffrey Y. Mao Alumni Award in Political Science (Political Science Department)
Pi Sigma Alpha

Sage R. Gerstenzang
Episilon Alpha Sigma
Outstanding East Asian Language Study Award (East Asian Studies Program)
J. Ezra Keller Scholarship (Presidential Scholar)

Jubileen L. Kombe
Meagan Toothman Scholarship (Psychology Department)

Allyson J. Masterson
Alpha Lambda Delta
Hartje Travel Scholarship Award (History Department)

Madison Nadler
Chi Alpha Sigma
Emmett Bodenberg Award for Outstanding Achievement in Environmental Biology (Biology Department
University Honors
U.S. Fulbright Student Program (Semi-finalist)

Reference Department

Angela M. Gialanella
The Lou Laux Environmental Sustainability Award

Whitney P. Hoover
Financial Executives International Award (Business & Economics Department)

Rachel E. Little
University Honors

Kaitlyn M. McGee
Alpha Lambda Delta

Samantha L. Reynolds
The Award for Excellence in Literary Studies (English Department)
University Honors
The Women’s Studies Writing Award (Women’s Studies Award)
U.S. Fulbright Student Program (Semi-finalist)

Carly E. Schneider
University Honors
The T. Edwin Boling Sociology Scholarship Award (Sociology Department)

Kathryn G. Wetterstroem
Sigma Tau Delta
William A. Kinnison Scholarship (Presidential Scholar)

Miranda M. Zielinski
Alpha Lambda Delta
Clarence Charles Stoughton Scholarship (Presidential Scholar)

Celebration of Learning

Typically the first Friday in April also is Wittenberg University’s Celebration of Learning where students present research and projects for the entire campus to enjoy. Due to the coronavirus pandemic Celebration of Learning became a virtual celebration in 2020.

Several Thomas Library students presented at this year’s Celebration of Learning and I would like to recognize them now.

Sam Bepler
Metaphorical Criticism of “I’m Already There,” by LoneStar (poster presentation & essay)

Jubileen Kombe
Love Languages (poster presentation)
Lecture Questions in American Classroom vs. Indian Classrooms (poster presentation)
Perceptions of Sound-Based Cues in Real Time (poster presentation)

Madison Nadler
How Depth and Year Affect Reef Fish Species in Islamorada (poster presentation)

Harley Paul
Religious Upbringing and Anti-Atheist Personality Judgments of Narcissism (TED Talk)

Again, congratulations on your accomplishments and honors. On behalf of Thomas Library I want to share with you that we are proud of you and are happy to have you working for us in the Library. For the seniors, I wish you the best of luck as you pursue the next step in your life’s journey. For the non-seniors we look forward to your return next academic year and your continued success in the classroom.

Best wishes!

Doug Lehman
Director, Thomas Library